Apifera’s 6 Visits EP offers a glimpse of the electronic jazz quartet’s “musical DNA” with interpretations of tracks by Madlib, Duke Ellington, Massive Attack, Sergei Prokofiev, Sunbear, McCoy Tyner, and Squarepusher.

Spotify | Apple | Bandcamp 

1. Beyond the Sunrays (McCoy Tyner “Beyond the Sun” & Madlib’s Yesterdays New Quintet “Sunrays”)
2. Half the Fun (Duke Ellington)
3. Psyche (Massive Attack)
4. Vision Fugitives (Op. 22: 8, Commodo – Sergei Prokofiev)
5. L.O.V.E. (Sunbear “Mood 1, L.O.V.E.”)
6. Plaistow Flex Out (Squarepusher)

For their debut album Overstand, Apifera embraced an improvisatory and live sound, writing and recording the album in three days. On 6 Visits, the group took a different approach, challenging themselves to work within the limitations of other artists’ work and “implementing new elements in our musical vocabulary.”

The EP’s artwork, by artist Hillel Eflal, portrays a humanoid within nature – symbolic of Apifera’s distinct blend of electronic sounds with organic arrangements.

Apifera’s first tour in Europe kicks off November 24th.

24 Nov: Bimhaus, Amsterdam NL
25 Nov: Duc Des Lombards, Paris FR
27 Nov: Peckham Audio, London UK
28 Nov: Musig im Pflegidach, Muri CH
29 Nov: Gretchen, Berlin DE

Apifera | Instagram

related artists Apifera