Summer Suite CD/MP3

Summer Suite is a 40-minute jazz fusion piece produced and arranged by Madlib, under the name The Last Electro-Acoustic Space Jazz & Percussion Ensemble. This suite is a single track comprised of four major sections and several different themes, altogether feeling similar to, more more cohesive, than one of Madlib's jazz mixtapes. “Electro-acoustic space jazz” itself is a fitting description.

The Last Electro-Acoustic Space Jazz & Percussion Ensemble, a faceless and nameless collective in Madlib's self-created world of jazz groups, was debuted on the album Yesterdays Universe (2007). The compilation marked the end of Madlib's first series of jazz records, the Yesterdays New Quintet cycle (2000-2007), and the beginning of a new era, an evolved sound, and many new names: The Last Electro, Jackson Conti, Young Jazz Rebels, Jahari Masaba Unit, Kamala Walker and the Soul Tribe.

Summer Suite was originally created in 2007 and given a limited release in CD-R form for buyers of Yesterdays Universe in 2007.

The Last Electro's long-delayed album Miles Away is still planned for release. Fall Suite will be released near the end of this summer.

Key releases in Madlib’s jazz discography:
Yesterdays New Quintet – “Elle's Theme” EP
Yesterdays New Quintet – Angles Without Edges Album
Yesterdays New Quintet – Stevie Album
Monk Hughes & The Outer Realm – A Tribute to Brother Weldon Album
Sound Directions – The Funky Side of Life Album
Jackson Conti – Sujinho Album

Summer Su

related artists Madlib