Strong Arm Steady has collaborated with Statik Selektah for what will be their second album for Stones Throw.  The 14-track Stereotype will be released August 14th. 

Video for “Premium” debuts today.

Strong Arm Steady was born in the streets of Los Angeles. SAS Gang set out to create a space for artists to stay connected to the street without having to sacrifice their personalities or artistic ambitions.  The original crew consisted of like-minded MCs, DJs and producers who are among CA’s best: Krondon, Phil The Agony, Mitchy Slick, Xzibit, Chace Infinite, Planet Asia, DJ Khalil and DJ Truly Odd.

Over several years in the early 2000s, the Strong Arm Steady collective made a steady assault on the mixtape circuit. Mixtapes became the crew’s foundation as they were among the first West Coast artists who weren’t DJs or DJ-affiliated to break through in the manner of 50 Cent and Young Jeezy. The SAS Gang proved to be a pure and uncensored voice of the streets, though not in the typical fashion. They have a track record of delivering street music that drops knowledge as much as it captures the spirit of the ‘hood.

Over the years the crew slimmed down to Krondon, Phil and Mitchy, while releasing material in the more traditional album format. 2010’s In Search of Stoney Jackson, added a new dimension to the SAS repertoire – a collaboration with a single producer, Madlib, and their first project with Stones Throw Records. Following their 2011 release Arms & Hammers on the Blacksmith imprint, they return to Stones Throw for another single-producer collaboration.

Stereotype features production exclusively from the Brooklyn-based DJ, Statik Selektah, whose past collaborations include Nas, Freddie Gibbs and Action Bronson and features appearances from the extended SAS family including Planet Asia and Chace Infinite plus West Coast newcomers Casey Veggies, Schoolboy Q and the Black Hippy crew and southern rap veteran David Banner.

Strong Arm Steady & Statik Selektah – Stereotype – Track List

1. Truth of The Truth
2. Premium
3. Forever, feat. Chace Infinite
4. Born Into It, feat. Bad Lucc
5. Do Ya Thang Girl (JOOK), feat. Casey Veggies and Picaso
6. On My Job, feat. Skeme
7. LA Blues, feat. Planet Asia and Tri-State
8. Classic
9. Through The Motions, feat. David Banner and Fiend
10. Married To The Game, feat. Chace Infinite and Double R
11. Fair Fight, feat. Black Hippy
12. Back On Up
13. Outta Control, feat. Reks
14. Smoke On, feat. Dom Kennedy and Baby D

Strong Arm Steady | Statik Selektah