New York-based synth-pop revivalist Morgan Z is releasing Elemental Themes, his first album as Chrome Canyon, on October 9 on Stones Throw.

Today he's released "mix tape i" – made for The Quietus, who writes: he's taken some time off from the x-ray specs factory and made us this mix, which bristles with enough vintage analogue synths to make Giorgio Moroder weep. Moroder's on there in fact, along with Tangerine Dream, Yellow Magic Orchestra and Ashra, and a potent closing one-two of Al Green and Donna Summer.

Download MP3: Chrome Canyon mix tape i

Track List:
Tomita – The Hut of Baba Yaga
Zoom – Distant Destiny
Ashra – Bamboo Sands
Giorgio Moroder – Night Drive (Call Me, Instrumental)
Yellow Magic Orchestra – Tong Poo
Wendy Carlos – Secrets of Synthesis
Space – Velvet Rape
Brian Bennett – Solstice
Tangerine Dream – The Call
Al Green – Everything's Gonna Be Alright
Donna Summer – State of Independence
Geinoh Yamashirogumi – Tetsuo

related artists Chrome Canyon