Jump to content


Photo

SP-303 to Monitors (SETUP)


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 LeftFoot1st

LeftFoot1st

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 365 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:BROOKLYN
  • Interests:Art, Advertising, Graphic Design, Photography....
  • Soundcloud:https://soundcloud.com/leftfoot1st

Posted 23 April 2015 - 02:46 PM

So I've received both an SP-303 and two Yamaha HS8s and I'm trying to figure out what's the best way to set it up so I can input from my comouter through the SP and out into the HS8s

I'm looking for both the easiest way, which will let me use them now

AND

The best way, which might be with a mixer and what not.


Any input can help on this situation....right now I'm just using my headphones for output

#2 EdTheYounger

EdTheYounger

    STMB Official

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 535 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:37.8136° S, 144.9631° E
  • Interests:Black Coffee
  • Soundcloud:https://soundcloud.com/edtheyounger

Posted 23 April 2015 - 03:15 PM

Mixer would work. Go 3.5mm line out of pc to auxiliary in on the sp. Then auxiliary out of the sp into a mixer then out of the mixer with TRS into the monitors. DO NOT USE AUXILARY ON THE MONITORS, I mean you can but you will pick up interference because auxilary is unbalanced, it will also shrink the stereo image compared to balanced TRS cables.

Just find a cheap mixer with AUX in and TRS out. Should be able to get one for under $50.

Should do the job.

Peace

#3 LeftFoot1st

LeftFoot1st

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 365 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:BROOKLYN
  • Interests:Art, Advertising, Graphic Design, Photography....
  • Soundcloud:https://soundcloud.com/leftfoot1st

Posted 23 April 2015 - 03:25 PM

Thanks for the response, I'm going to look for a mixer now.... Someone told me you can get a pioneer 500 for like 150$ I might get that...is that the type of mixer? Or do I need a specific one?

#4 EdTheYounger

EdTheYounger

    STMB Official

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 535 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:37.8136° S, 144.9631° E
  • Interests:Black Coffee
  • Soundcloud:https://soundcloud.com/edtheyounger

Posted 23 April 2015 - 03:34 PM

No prob. Like I said any mixer with AUX in and TRS out should be fine. Up to you how much you want to spend and the quality you want. If you're after something cheap then just something like http://www.amazon.co...098P7B3ABGA0J8Q should work. Otherwise the pioneer is a nice option if you want something more "professional" I guess.

#5 LeftFoot1st

LeftFoot1st

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 365 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:BROOKLYN
  • Interests:Art, Advertising, Graphic Design, Photography....
  • Soundcloud:https://soundcloud.com/leftfoot1st

Posted 23 April 2015 - 04:25 PM

The one you posted actually looks pretty good for the price, the only reason I'd get one of the four channel ,orders is because eventually I'll probably get a synth or something and I hate trying to sell things.

Besides the pioneer do you think you can name a few decent "pro" mixers? I was looking at the numark m6 and a behringer one
Not looking to spend more than 300

#6 EdTheYounger

EdTheYounger

    STMB Official

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 535 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:37.8136° S, 144.9631° E
  • Interests:Black Coffee
  • Soundcloud:https://soundcloud.com/edtheyounger

Posted 23 April 2015 - 05:10 PM

I'm not too well versed in mixers (what's better than what etc) but generally behringer is regarded as a cheap/budget brand. Similar to M Audio kind of gear/pricing. Their build quality is always pretty bad but you get what you pay for. Pioneer and numark are both regarded as higher end. I'm sure you should be fine with which ever option you choose. Behringer would be more a temp thing until you expanded your set up (like you mentioned), if you go numark or pioneer you're basically set for the next 10-15 years... Those things are built to last. But I would recommend doing some Google searches for best mixers under $300 or best budget mixes. See what comes up, read some reviews etc. with mixers they'll all do pretty much the same thing (route and mix sound) you're paying for build quality and longevity at the end of the day.

Peace.

#7 Grifty-Rodriguez

Grifty-Rodriguez

    STMB Tapatío

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,364 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Gilroy, California
  • Interests:Burritos, HipHop
  • Soundcloud:http://soundcloud.com/grifty

Posted 23 April 2015 - 05:25 PM

Behringer stuff is surprisingly solid usually. The knock on them is that they reverse engineer competitors stuff and sell it for cheaper. So most of the audio industry has completely shunned them and put them on the shit list.
  • EdTheYounger likes this

#8 EdTheYounger

EdTheYounger

    STMB Official

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 535 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:37.8136° S, 144.9631° E
  • Interests:Black Coffee
  • Soundcloud:https://soundcloud.com/edtheyounger

Posted 23 April 2015 - 05:38 PM

Behringer stuff is surprisingly solid usually. The knock on them is that they reverse engineer competitors stuff and sell it for cheaper. So most of the audio industry has completely shunned them and put them on the shit list.

yeah that's why I have no problem recommending them :) but in saying that I don't think a behringer mixer will get you the same mileage or feel as nice to touch as a pioneer or numark mixer. Same with m audio stuff, their shit actually does a great job! Just not made to be thrown around for 10+ years...

#9 LeftFoot1st

LeftFoot1st

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 365 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:BROOKLYN
  • Interests:Art, Advertising, Graphic Design, Photography....
  • Soundcloud:https://soundcloud.com/leftfoot1st

Posted 23 April 2015 - 07:16 PM

Yeah, everywhere I go and read on the opinions about the behringer, everybody says it has a shit build quality and that its a 4 channel mixer, but can really only use 2 to it's full potential, and hearing that makes me want to just get the allen and heath 23.. which has a great build quality and sounds really good....the bad thing is the fader acts a little funny so they want you to upgrade it... idk man, I got a little time before i'll purchase the mixer. I might just not use the monitors for a little and stack up... like, I know a four channel mixer can hold me down for a good minute, but at the moment I really don't need it....i'm just trying to save the time of having to sell and buy something at a later date.

 

idk man, i'm a little lost on this shit.... but when i get the bread i'll probably just cop w.e. ..... I had met Ras G once and he was playing around with the behringer at that moment, but idk what's good with that now.



#10 EdTheYounger

EdTheYounger

    STMB Official

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 535 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:37.8136° S, 144.9631° E
  • Interests:Black Coffee
  • Soundcloud:https://soundcloud.com/edtheyounger

Posted 23 April 2015 - 07:42 PM

Honestly man don't lose sleep over it. If you just want to run your monitors then the behringer is fine, even some dank ass second hand yard sale shit will do the job... If you ain't worried about the $$ then any option you get for $150-$300 will be great.

#11 LeftFoot1st

LeftFoot1st

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 365 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:BROOKLYN
  • Interests:Art, Advertising, Graphic Design, Photography....
  • Soundcloud:https://soundcloud.com/leftfoot1st

Posted 23 April 2015 - 07:54 PM

yeah you right.... I might end up getting the behringer being that I don't plan on moving the shit around for shows or w.e... all I really want it for is to be in the crib when I set up my little studio... I could always buy something else in the future.



#12 ODK

ODK

    Lab Cook

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,194 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Within The Multiverse
  • Interests:Socks, Toilet Rolls, and Vegetable Samosas!
  • Soundcloud:http://soundcloud.com/i-am-heisenberg

Posted Yesterday, 09:59 PM

I got a behringer little mixer thing dirt cheap on ebay does the job fine for vocals, not sure about anything else though, you thought about running the sp via MIDI into a controller. Everytime I get lost on equipment or think whats the best I instantly watch this.


  • EdTheYounger likes this

#13 EdTheYounger

EdTheYounger

    STMB Official

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 535 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:37.8136° S, 144.9631° E
  • Interests:Black Coffee
  • Soundcloud:https://soundcloud.com/edtheyounger

Posted Yesterday, 10:47 PM

I got a behringer little mixer thing dirt cheap on ebay does the job fine for vocals, not sure about anything else though, you thought about running the sp via MIDI into a controller. Everytime I get lost on equipment or think whats the best I instantly watch this.

Dude a lot of big names will echo this sentiment. You should read the book 'behind the beat' if you haven't already, all home studios from big underground producers. Flying lotus said the more equipment he has the less music he makes and generally the less inspired he is.

madlibstudio624bymadlib.jpg?wmode=transp

 

^^one of madlibs early "studios"

or just check the apollo brown rhythm roulette... Dude's still banging cool edit on like windows 98 through a sony hifi system (monitors what?).



#14 Low Hiss

Low Hiss

    Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 68 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lyon, France
  • Interests:Wax (both meanings^^), Vintage samplers, Good music
  • Soundcloud:http://soundcloud.com/low-hiss

Posted Today, 12:32 AM

Honestly don't sweat the quality of the mixer too much if you're just going to use it to run the outputs of your 303. Even for sampling in, as long as you don't hit the red it shouldn't color/alter the sound much if at all.

I'm guessing you don't have a turntable since you don't have a mixer but if you decide you wanna sample from vinyl, just buy a separate phono preamp instead of using the crappy one built in the behringer or whichever cheap mixer and you'll be golden.

 

In the meantime while you decide on the right mixer you could still hook your monitors up to the 303 using a couple of RCA splitters and RCA to XLR or TRS cables depending on what kind of inputs your monitors have.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users