Jump to content


Photo

Using a Laptop live

kook

  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 perpetualprudence

perpetualprudence

    Rookie

  • Members
  • 13 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:northern bay area
  • Interests:Knowledge, Wisdom, Understanding, Beats, spliffs, Skateboarding
  • Soundcloud:soundcloud.com/perpetualprudence

Posted 18 November 2014 - 09:06 AM

I got an offer to do a show next month, never played my beats live or anything, all I use is fl studio though... Which doesnt seem to do justice in the scenario of a live show. Is it kook-like if you use a laptop without hardware? Id feel like an iPod with arms just playing my songs. I thought about using visuals and shit to give people something to look at besides me but I dunno, anyone got any suggestions?



#2 SunnyMeadowz

SunnyMeadowz

    The Royal Dutch of Dukes

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,141 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Denver
  • Interests:Weed, Pussy, Records (In no particular order)

Posted 18 November 2014 - 01:25 PM

Serato. Or just stand there and click buttons; at this point that's what most crowds are used to anyways so no one will be particularly upset.

#3 Grifty-Rodriguez

Grifty-Rodriguez

    STMB Tapatío

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,082 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Gilroy, California
  • Interests:Burritos, HipHop
  • Soundcloud:http://soundcloud.com/grifty

Posted 18 November 2014 - 03:46 PM

Yeah.... :\ hate to say it but that's what DJs do these days. Just saw flying lotus, and all he did was head nod in front of a laptop. Yeah he grabbed the mic for a couple tracks but still... It was almost like a novelty.

#4 gEEchieDan

gEEchieDan

    STMB Official

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 915 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Oakland, Ca (E14th)
  • Interests:Cooking, Boxing, Music, STMB, Madlib...
  • Soundcloud:geechiedan

Posted 18 November 2014 - 03:46 PM

or free virtual dj.... its enough to get you through i secretly did a show with it and it worked!!! visuals should be cool id use nature 



#5 perpetualprudence

perpetualprudence

    Rookie

  • Members
  • 13 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:northern bay area
  • Interests:Knowledge, Wisdom, Understanding, Beats, spliffs, Skateboarding
  • Soundcloud:soundcloud.com/perpetualprudence

Posted 19 November 2014 - 09:56 AM

Serato. Or just stand there and click buttons; at this point that's what most crowds are used to anyways so no one will be particularly upset.

 

 

or free virtual dj.... its enough to get you through i secretly did a show with it and it worked!!! visuals should be cool id use nature 

I have experience in virtual DJ so I may use that, and I just looked into serato, the company makes it seem pretty proper, is there even that much of a difference between Serato and Virtual DJ?



#6 perpetualprudence

perpetualprudence

    Rookie

  • Members
  • 13 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:northern bay area
  • Interests:Knowledge, Wisdom, Understanding, Beats, spliffs, Skateboarding
  • Soundcloud:soundcloud.com/perpetualprudence

Posted 19 November 2014 - 10:00 AM

Yeah.... :\ hate to say it but that's what DJs do these days. Just saw flying lotus, and all he did was head nod in front of a laptop. Yeah he grabbed the mic for a couple tracks but still... It was almost like a novelty.

Well at least I wont feel as kooky, although I dunno why he'd just use a laptop when he has all the hardware he could need



#7 Grifty-Rodriguez

Grifty-Rodriguez

    STMB Tapatío

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,082 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Gilroy, California
  • Interests:Burritos, HipHop
  • Soundcloud:http://soundcloud.com/grifty

Posted 19 November 2014 - 10:44 AM

nobody uses "hardware" live bruh.  laptops ARE the hardware.



#8 James Frank.

James Frank.

    Rookie of the Year

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2,278 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:DENVER
  • Interests:crates, paint, sashimi, sticks of sherm.

Posted 19 November 2014 - 10:56 AM

nobody uses "hardware" live bruh.

 

 

i do...



#9 Grifty-Rodriguez

Grifty-Rodriguez

    STMB Tapatío

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,082 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Gilroy, California
  • Interests:Burritos, HipHop
  • Soundcloud:http://soundcloud.com/grifty

Posted 19 November 2014 - 11:43 AM

What's your live set up jf?

#10 perpetualprudence

perpetualprudence

    Rookie

  • Members
  • 13 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:northern bay area
  • Interests:Knowledge, Wisdom, Understanding, Beats, spliffs, Skateboarding
  • Soundcloud:soundcloud.com/perpetualprudence

Posted 19 November 2014 - 03:53 PM

nobody uses "hardware" live bruh.  laptops ARE the hardware.

With a laptop it is a lot less interactive. With hardware it would at least appear as more of a performance. But whatever, now I know I wont be the only fool using a laptop for live shit.



#11 James Frank.

James Frank.

    Rookie of the Year

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2,278 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:DENVER
  • Interests:crates, paint, sashimi, sticks of sherm.

Posted 19 November 2014 - 10:27 PM

What's your live set up jf?

 

an SP-404, an SP-303, a DJ mixer and a mic.



#12 bcwarlock

bcwarlock

    Rookie

  • Members
  • 4 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:VA
  • Interests:Making music
  • Soundcloud:https://soundcloud.com/spwarlock

Posted Today, 02:14 PM

Ableton works pretty well for from what I hear.It has a crossfader plus you can use the effects it has during your set to spice it up.It also has some great scene launch settings that can get really complex if you take the time to work w/ them.



#13 bcwarlock

bcwarlock

    Rookie

  • Members
  • 4 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:VA
  • Interests:Making music
  • Soundcloud:https://soundcloud.com/spwarlock

Posted Today, 02:16 PM

Ableton works pretty well for from what I hear.It has a crossfader plus you can use the effects it has during your set to spice it up.It also has some great scene launch settings that can get really complex if you take the time to work w/ them.

Plus ableton can use the dj controllers OR a scene launcher with pads.






1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users