Jump to content


Photo

Do you always layer?

sampling production mixing

  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 EdTheYounger

EdTheYounger

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 175 posts

Posted 09 July 2014 - 06:13 AM

Just a curious question... I was making a beat tonight and the sample I had chosen to work with was pretty complex. It had piano, guitar and some horns all in one. After I chopped it up, rearranged it on the pads laid some bass, drums, eq and Fx it sounded pretty dam nice (as a 1-2 demo minute beat) but then I had the thought that I NEEDED to layer something else in there otherwise I would be cheating lol. Maybe because it only took me like 45 minutes...

Anyone ever feel like this? or finish beats without adding anything but drums and bass?

#2 ODK

ODK

    Lab Cook

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,060 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Within The Multiverse
  • Interests:Socks, Toilet Rolls, and Vegetable Samosas!
  • Soundcloud:http://soundcloud.com/i-am-heisenberg

Posted 09 July 2014 - 09:01 AM

Usually means you nailed it and it doesn't need anymore, and yeah I layer all day long, 6-7 kicks, same with snares.


  • EdTheYounger likes this

#3 EdTheYounger

EdTheYounger

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 175 posts

Posted 09 July 2014 - 12:55 PM

Usually means you nailed it and it doesn't need anymore, and yeah I layer all day long, 6-7 kicks, same with snares.


Yeah I layered drums. Was talking more just about the main sample selection.

#4 turquoisecrown

turquoisecrown

    Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 66 posts

Posted 09 July 2014 - 02:23 PM

if it sound dope it sound dope..


  • EdTheYounger likes this

#5 JoaGymshoe

JoaGymshoe

    STMB Official

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 514 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rotterdam, Netherlands
  • Soundcloud:https://soundcloud.com/joagymshoe

Posted 10 July 2014 - 02:20 PM

...honey on my peanutbutter ... on my toast every morning... if it taste good  it taste good ;)



#6 GoodFNeLla

GoodFNeLla

    Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 135 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:HOLLAND HARLEM
  • Interests:Rest in fuckin paradise my nigga Chakir
  • Soundcloud:http://soundcloud.com/goodfellanella

Posted 11 July 2014 - 03:47 PM

you know ed if a sample is just to damn nice i never ad a new random layer,maybe only layer that loop to let the ,sax,guitar or whatever  bounce up  a lil bit you feel me,some samples are just diamants already,our job is to pull out the catchy melodies and start rearanging


  • EdTheYounger likes this

#7 ODK

ODK

    Lab Cook

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,060 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Within The Multiverse
  • Interests:Socks, Toilet Rolls, and Vegetable Samosas!
  • Soundcloud:http://soundcloud.com/i-am-heisenberg

Posted 11 July 2014 - 05:09 PM

Yeah I layered drums. Was talking more just about the main sample selection.

So was I man, take a loop with drums in it and in instruments then layer my layered drums over etc, like Nella said though use it when it's needed.


  • GoodFNeLla likes this

#8 EdTheYounger

EdTheYounger

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 175 posts

Posted 15 July 2014 - 05:14 AM

So was I man, take a loop with drums in it and in instruments then layer my layered drums over etc, like Nella said though use it when it's needed.

Oh right now I get you :)

Yeah I've been focusing on the basics lately, pretty amazed at the results you can get with just a solid sample, heavy eq stacking, some layered drums and a bassline of course. Enjoying the minimalist approach :)
  • GoodFNeLla and Tahn like this

#9 Noodle Fingers

Noodle Fingers

    Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 85 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sherwood Park, AB
  • Interests:Jazz, Hip-Hop, Lemon Haze, Doritos, Cuisine
  • Soundcloud:https://soundcloud.com/noodlefingers/

Posted 17 July 2014 - 08:50 PM

I usually have mad layers on my beats, but if it works out as just one solid layer, that's the way it goes. Shit, the beat I'm getting an MC on right now is only one layer. But it's deep within the layer, so it works for me.



#10 James Frank.

James Frank.

    Rookie of the Year

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2,192 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:DENVER
  • Interests:crates, paint, sashimi, sticks of sherm.

Posted 18 July 2014 - 09:22 AM

a better question is, do you ever not layer?



#11 SunnyMeadowz

SunnyMeadowz

    The Royal Dutch of Dukes

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,092 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Denver
  • Interests:Weed, Pussy, Records (In no particular order)

Posted 18 July 2014 - 09:58 AM

^ Yeah I do all the time. But I don't mind those Roc Marci like beats where the chops and the samples speak for themselves.
  • James Frank. likes this

#12 Tahn

Tahn

    Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 68 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Angeles, CA 90057
  • Interests:Vietnamese-American Recording Artist Since 1995
  • Soundcloud:soundcloud.com/michaelnhat

Posted 30 July 2014 - 04:36 PM

sometimes i rhyme slow sometimes i rhyme quick sometimes i layer up sometimes i stay a minimalist



#13 this is WACK

this is WACK

    Rookie

  • Members
  • 4 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:PDX, OR

Posted 01 August 2014 - 05:15 AM

When ever I feel the need to layer, I always think of Madlib. Dude almost never layers except maybe kicks and snares.


  • EdTheYounger likes this





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: sampling, production, mixing

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users