Jump to content


Photo

ASIO Problems


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Josh G

Josh G

    Gonzo

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,670 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bradford, UK

Posted 17 March 2009 - 10:39 AM

Right, this all started because I thought it would be funny to fuck about with auto-tune.

As some of you know I use Reason, but you can't record audio into it, and you can't use plug-ins with it. I have FL Studio on my PC, which i sometimes use for mixing vocal tracks, so I thought I'd record audio and mess with the auto-tune plug-in with that.

Thing is, you have to use ASIO to record in, but with the ASIO driver enabled (as opposed to the standard driver) It won't allow any sound out. I can record in fine, but on the output drop-down on the mixer, it says 'Not Connected'.

I know I only stumbled across this problem because I was messin about, but it would be quite nice to be able to record vocals/instruments for real music making.

I could just do what I do with samples and record to a third party programme, but it's better all in one place sometimes.

Can anyone offer any help?

#2 sugoisounds

sugoisounds

    STMB Official

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2,266 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Aberdoom
  • Soundcloud:sugoisounds

Posted 17 March 2009 - 10:58 AM

what kind of card you got?
I hate these kinds of problems

#3 Josh G

Josh G

    Gonzo

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,670 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bradford, UK

Posted 17 March 2009 - 11:00 AM

what kind of card you got?
I hate these kinds of problems


Just a bog standard pre-installed laptop one on this computer.

#4 sugoisounds

sugoisounds

    STMB Official

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2,266 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Aberdoom
  • Soundcloud:sugoisounds

Posted 17 March 2009 - 12:45 PM

Just a bog standard pre-installed laptop one on this computer.

mmm...i got nada, 'cept buy a ASIO USB card

#5 Josh G

Josh G

    Gonzo

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,670 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bradford, UK

Posted 18 March 2009 - 01:07 AM

mmm...i got nada, 'cept buy a ASIO USB card


yeh i think im gunna do that.

cheers anyhow mate.

#6 OKG

OKG

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 472 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:halifax, canada

Posted 18 March 2009 - 05:50 AM

if you have audio going in on an asio driver, you have to have all sound from your pc coming out of it as well, my pops has the m-audio 2496 audiophile and this is how it works, with non asio cards/drivers you can be going in on one card/driver, and out on another card/driver, but i don't think this is possible on asio drivers...

#7 Josh G

Josh G

    Gonzo

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,670 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bradford, UK

Posted 18 March 2009 - 06:12 AM

yeh best just to cop an asio card then, there's no rush so i'll just get one when i have some spare cash.

thanks.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users