Brazilian Music

• Please log in to reply
78 replies to this topic

#1 professorsam

professorsam

Rookie

• Members
  • 6 posts
  • Interests:Listening to music, writing, watching old bollywood movies and drinking ice t

Posted 14 January 2009 - 12:22 PM

Hi everybody I'm new to the Stones Throw Message Board and pretty new to record collecting and I'm really getting into Brazilian music, like Antonio Carlos Jobim and Os Mutantes, so I was wondering if anybody had any suggestions for good Brazilian music that they'd like to share?

#2 pencilface

pencilface

STMB Official

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,488 posts

Posted 14 January 2009 - 04:24 PM

hopefully this thread will get more action han that folk-soul thread...

mutantes to jobim, that's a pretty wide spread!!!

obvioulsy there's loads of stuff, all the pics i tried to steal off other internet sites wouldnt load for some reason..... but there's some great threads on this here and here<<<

#3 Friies

Friies

STMB Mayonnaise

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2,136 posts
  • Interests:music and other stuff

Posted 14 January 2009 - 07:39 PM

man i suggest you take a look at this fabulous blog right here
Loronix blog
loads of brazilian records to download, anywhere from 50's to 90's,
known artists, lesser knowns
if theres some you feel then go hunt it

i personnally like joao donato, radames gnatttali, gilberto gil, toquinho/vinicius, jobim of course, astrud and joao gilberto, baden powell, sivuca, etc etc theres too many
thats what i think of right now, good luck

#4 professorsam

professorsam

Rookie

• Members
  • 6 posts
  • Interests:Listening to music, writing, watching old bollywood movies and drinking ice t

Posted 14 January 2009 - 08:21 PM

Damn! Thanks so much man for that Loronix link, some of that stuff looks really really good :lol:

#5 pencilface

pencilface

STMB Official

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,488 posts

Posted 15 January 2009 - 02:37 AM