Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Ferchinho

DJ RELS

28 posts in this topic

As with any Stones Throw thread, or MADLIB thread for that matter, I'm sure this topic has been covered.

But I'm a newbie, so I'll be stubborn anyway:

What do ya'll think of DJ RELS "Theme for a Broken Soul"?

I just picked it up and i think it's amazing. Sound so different from Madlib's other productions. It's so textured, layered and it seems like he actually put alot of time into programming the beats, arrangements, etc. ''Sao Paulo'' is soooo good.

Wonder if he'll ever follow up with another record? hmmm....

Found this cd at Poo Bah about a year ago. Love it.

Perfect for late night drives through the Los Angeles freeways.

Picked it up when it was released. Still one of my favorite Madlib albums.

I also used it a lot as a custom soundtrack for Street Fighter IV... Heh.

Haha Theme for a broken soul as your custom soundtrack for sf4, sounds great

It's definitely my fav. ST release, but i don't think they're gonna release another album...

@ Ferchinho, look for the DJ Rels promo mix, that one is really nice. It also has 2 bonus tracks that are not on the album

Its a fairly decent album, and I enjoy it, but I'm a proper Broken Beat head so i think compared to a lot of other work its nothing special. Still pretty good though.

Edit: Although I must say, Diggin In Brownswood is pretty brilliant.

I have just now realized how great this album is. I know it's cliche but this album was way ahead of it's time. I pray it will be a MMS but I very highly doubt it.

i think "the doo (do it)" is one of the dopest madlib tracks of all time. it makes me want that spectrum shit or a madlib house album REALLY bad.

i also just found a rare remix of brownsville by rels. it's called the YNQ remix. it was on the 2003 sampler.

1 person likes this

not available on lp jack-ass 12'' only